Second-year English courses at Langara offer students the opportunity to build on the foundations of literary and rhetorical analysis established in first-year courses while applying a much more specific focus in terms of content. Whether you are planning on getting a degree in English or you just want to take an interesting elective, the course offerings change each semester, so make sure you check back often!

For Creative Writing courses, click here.

All our second-year courses are fully transferable to UBC and SFU. For information about transfer credit and articulation of these courses, please visit the BC Transfer Guide.

For more information, check out the following video, or contact the individual instructors or the English Department Chair.


Second-Year Courses for Summer 2022

ENGL 2223: Survey of English Literature I

ENGL 2223 explores the wealth of English Literature from its beginnings through the 17th century, emphasising major works by major authors. We’ll begin with a brief overview of the development of the English language to prepare for Chaucer’s Canterbury Tales – a Middle English master class in characterization. We’ll sandwich Shakespeare’s Twelfth Night and its exploration of folly, identity, and desire between a look at other short 16th and 17th-century poems (sonnet, pastoral, lyric, etc.). And we’ll end with the bizarre majesty of Milton’s Paradise Lost, which – if it doesn’t quite manage to “justify the ways of God to men” – still “pursues things unattempted yet in prose or rhyme.” We’ll spend a lot of time with iambic pentameter as we seek to understand, appreciate, and challenge these texts.

Instructor: Noel Currie ncurrie@langara.ca | Monday/Wednesday 10:30 - 12:30
View Course Outline | Register for ENGL 2223 (CRN: 20687)


ENGL 2225: Canadian Literature

If you have ever wondered, what is Canadian literature anyway?, you are not alone.  In fact, such questions are fundamental to literature by and about Canadians.  In this survey course, we read a range of genres (scholarly articles, poetry, non-fiction, and a novel), historical periods (19th - 21st century), regions (including rural and urban, eastern and western, northern and southern, and Canadian and South-Asian), and subject matter (ranging from adventure, ghosts, magic, and even sasquatches, to colonialism, displacement, nationhood, immigration, loss, trauma, memory, tradition, discrimination, belonging, diversity, social justice, and much more).  We cover some texts that have conventionally been perceived as classics.  And, paying attention to issues relating to the environment, socioeconomics, race, gender, and sexual orientation, we study texts that provide varied, experimental, and sometimes overlooked or misunderstood perspectives in Canadian literature and criticism.

Instructor: Tiffany Johnstone tjohnstone@langara.ca | ONLINE (ASYNCHRONOUS)
View Course Outline | Register for ENGL 2225 (CRN: 20688)


ENGL 2233: Cybercultures: Computers, Literature, Identity

Are you the persona you construct on social media or the person sitting behind the screen, doing the constructing? Increasingly over the late 20th and early 21st centuries, the line between these two locations—the digital and the real—has been blurred by our accelerated development and embrace of computer technology. This course will trace how literature and popular culture have represented the desires and anxieties regarding identity, agency and perception associated with computing. As we’ll see, whereas computers initially suggested corporate and state authoritarianism, they have gradually shifted into more complex figures, not only for systems that capture us in networked webs of data, but also for the hopes of challenging the natural limits of the human body, mind and consciousness. Along the way, we will examine cultural representations of ninja cyborgs, outlaw hackers, rogue artificial intelligences, and layered virtual realities; consider the transformations in our conceptions of globalization, labor, gender, race and other conditions that have accompanied the rise of computing culture; and reflect on how the digital world tests the limits of what authors can adequately represent in prose.

Instructor: Marc Acherman macherman@langara.ca | Tuesday/Thursday 10:30 - 12:20
View Course Outline | Register for ENGL 2233 (CRN: 20689)


ENGL 2237: Cli-Fi, Pandemic Narratives, and Speculative Fiction: On Literature as Emergency Preparedness

Proposed in the fourth wave of the global pandemic of COVID-19, this course will explore literary representations of emergency or disaster preparedness, and of the experience and aftermath of disaster. Students will investigate the ways in which texts from several overlapping genres—climate fiction (“cli-fi”), pandemic narratives, and speculative fiction—potentially equip readers to cope with and confront the challenges of global catastrophe. They will also be encouraged to identify and engage with potential solutions to crises such as pandemic or climate change depicted within (or implied by) contemporary fictional accounts of these events.

Instructor: Mono Brown mmbrown@langara.ca | Monday/Wednesday 14:30-16:20
View Course Outline | Register for ENGL 2237 (CRN: 20691)


Second-Year Courses for Fall 2022

ENGL 2223: Survey of English Literature I – Tanya Lewis tlewis@langara.ca

ENGL 2224: Survey of English Literature II – Sandra Friesen sfriesen@langara.ca

ENGL 2230: Survey of Narrative Film – Karen Budra kbudra@langara.ca

ENGL 2235: American Literature – Mark Baker mbaker@langara.ca

ENGL 2234: Novel, Movie, Meme - Adaptations & Media Culture – Erin MacWilliam emacwilliam@langara.ca

ENGL 2237: Fantasy Literature – Thor Polukoshko tpolukoshko@langara.ca

Second-Year Courses for Spring 2023

ENGL 2222: Classical Literature in Translation – Alexander Grammatikos agrammatikos@langara.ca

ENGL 2223: Survey of English Literature I – Mark Baker mbaker@langara.ca

ENGL 2224: Survey of English Literature II – Paisley Mann pmann@langara.ca

ENGL 2233: Children's Literature – Erin Robb erobb@langara.ca

ENGL 2430: Film Through Theory (Queer Theory) – Mono Brown mbrown@langara.ca