Second-year English courses at Langara offer students the opportunity to build on the foundations of literary and rhetorical analysis established in first-year courses while applying a much more specific focus in terms of content. Whether you are planning on getting a degree in English or you just want to take an interesting elective, the course offerings change each semester, so make sure you check back often! For Creative Writing courses, click here.

All our second-year courses are fully transferable to UBC and SFU. For information about transfer credit and articulation of these courses, please visit the BC Transfer Guide.

For more information, feel free to contact the individual instructors or the English Department Chair.


Second-Year Courses for Summer 2020

ENGL 2223: Survey of English Literature I

English 2223 explores the wealth of English literature from its beginnings through the 17th century. Although we'll spend some time considering the history of our language and a variety of short poetic forms (sonnet, pastoral, lyric, etc.), the course emphasizes major works by major writers. We'll immerse ourselves in iambic pentameter, exploring character and storytelling in Chaucer's Canterbury Tales; identity and expectation in Shakespeare's Henry V (in production this summer at Bard on the Beach); and heaven, hell, and some of the spaces in between in Milton's Paradise Lost.

Instructor: Noel Currie ncurrie@langara.ca | Tuesday & Thursday, 14:30-16:20
View Course Outline | Register for ENGL 2223 (CRN: 20720)


Second-Year Courses for Fall 2020

ENGL 2223: Survey of English Literature I – Ciara Lawlor clawlor@langara.ca

ENGL 2224: Survey of English Literature II – Paisley Mann pmann@langara.ca 

ENGL 2235: American Literature – Mark Baker mbaker@langara.ca

ENGL 2233: Children's Literature – Erin Robb erobb@langara.ca

ENGL 2230: History of Narrative Film – Karen Budra kbudra@langara.ca

Second-Year Courses for Spring 2021

ENGL 2222: Classical Literature in Translation – Erin Robb erobb@langara.ca

ENGL 2223: Survey of English Literature I – Noel Currie ncurrie@langara.ca 

ENGL 2224: Survey of English Literature II – Mark Baker mbaker@langara.ca

ENGL 2237: Fakes and Forgeries – Heather Jessup hjessup@langara.ca

ENGL 2235: American Literature – Mark Baker mbaker@langara.ca

ENGL 2239: Studies in Poetry: The Poetics of Hip Hop – Thor Polukoshko tpolukoshko@langara.ca

ENGL 2430: Film Through Theory: Queer Representation – Mono Brown mmbrown@langara.ca