Alan Brain United Way Faculty Mentorship

Phone: 604.323.5721
Office: B010n
Email: abrain@langara.ca

Ph.D, UBC (Sociology)

Interests: social theory; social movements; urbanization in the global south.

Current Research: urbanization in China (especially Shanghai).

Courses Taught: SOCI 1120, SOCI 1121, SOCI 2200, SOCI 2240

 

Elic Chan Workday Job

Phone: 604.323.5511
Office: A367
Email: elicchan@langara.ca

Ph.D (Toronto)

Interests: race; ethnicity; immigration; research methods.

Current Research: ethnic nonprofits; labour market integration.

Courses Taught: SOCI 1120, SOCI 1121, SOCI 2230

Gagun Chhina Instructor

Phone: 604.323.5713
Office: B010p
Email: gchhina@langara.ca

Courses Taught: SOCI 1120, SOCI 4860

Sharlie Eicker Instructor

Phone: 604.323.5511 ext. 2133
Office: B010o
Email: seicker@langara.ca

MA, SFU, Sociology

Interests: Urban and environmental sociology, migration and immigrant integration, intercultural families, cycling and travel.

Courses Taught: SOCI 1120 (Introduction to Sociology: Models and Concepts), SOCI 1121 (Introduction to Sociology: Structure and Processes), SOCI 1126 (Environmental Sociology), SOCI 1127 (Social Problems), SOCI 2222 (Globalization and Social Change), SOCI 2270 (Urban Sociology)

Karyn Eisler Instructor

Phone: 604.323.5712
Office: B010f
Email: keisler@langara.ca

PhD., UBC (Sociology)

Courses Taught: SOCI 1120, SOCI 1121, SOCI 1123, SOCI 2260

 

Sandra Enns Instructor

Phone: 604.323.5720
Office: B010m
Email: senns@langara.ca

Ph.D., UBC (Sociology)

Interests: social inequality (race, class, gender); aboriginal issues; criminology and deviance.

Current Research: Language-Assisted Learning Project to address needs of intercultural learners at Langara.

Courses Taught: SOCI 1120, SOCI 1121, SOCI 2200, SOCI 2205, SOCI 2225, SOCI 2230

Lisa Hale Instructor

Phone:
Office: B010o
Email: lihale@langara.ca

MJ (2017), MA (2006)

Interests: racism and ethnic relations; decolonization; language revitalization; investigative journalism; pop culture.

Courses Taught: SOCI 1120, SOCI 1121, SOCI 1127, CNST 1120, CNST 1140

 

Indira-Natasha Prahst Instructor

Phone:
Office: B010j
Email: iprahst@langara.ca

Courses Taught: SOCI 1120, SOCI 1121, SOCI 1127, SOCI 2210, SOCI 2220, CNST 1140, FMST 1115

Susan Sverdrup-Phillips Instructor

Phone: 604.323.5511 ext. 2529
Office: B010i
Email: ssverdrup@langara.ca

Courses Taught: SOCI 1121