The BC Political Studies Association (BCPSA) exists to provide a forum for political scientists in British Columbia to present and discuss research and to collaborate on matters pertaining to the teaching and learning of political science in post-secondary institutions in BC.

BCPSA Student Essay Competition

At its annual general meeting and conference, held in early May, the BCPSA awards prizes for the best political science essays written in the previous year by students enrolled in BC colleges and universities. Papers are nominated by Department faculty at member institutions and reviewed by an adjudication committee established by the President of the BCPSA.  Prizes are awarded in the following three categories:

  • Mike Meade Award for best lower division undergraduate paper
  • Norman Ruff Award for best upper division undergraduate paper
  • Award for best BA Honours paper

Students desiring further details should see their instructor.

Award-Winning Papers

The following Langara students have won the Michael Meade Award in recent years:

  • Chelsea Parker (2019) for her paper, "Canada's Stunted Growth:  Barriers to Achieving Equal Representation in Parliament." 
  • Oliver Harrison (2018) for his paper, "Examining the Global Response to Ebola in West Africa: Lessons Learned."
  • Jesse Embree (2009) for his paper, “Questioning the Classics:  Progressing Towards Pragmatic Pluralism in the 21st Century.”

Further Information

For more information on the BC Political Studies Association, visit the BCPSA website.

24th Annual BCPSA Conference at Langara College

The Department of Political Science of Langara College hosted the 24th Annual General Conference of the British Columbia Political Studies Association on Thursday, May 2nd and Friday, May 3rd, 2019.  The Conference was held in conjunction with the annual meeting and workshops of the BC Political Science Articulation Committee.  Here is a report of the 2019 Conference, published on 7 May 2019 in the Langara Post: