The members of the Faculty of Nursing at Langara College are committed to student success. Faculty members are Nurse Educators engaged in creating positive learning experiences for students as they learn the work of Nurses.

Haleh Amini Instructor

Phone:
Office: C323e
Email: hamini@langara.ca

Sandy Atwal Instructor

Phone: 604.323.5511 ext. 2195
Office: C316a
Email: satwal@langara.ca

Amar Badyal Instructor

Phone: 604.323.5511 ext. 2378
Office: C307
Email: apowar@langara.ca

Yuko Baljak Instructor

Phone: 604.323.5511 ext. 2486
Office:
Email: ybaljak@langara.ca

Education:
2001 Bachelor of Applied Science BSc (Kin), Simon Fraser University, Burnaby, BC
2008 Bachelor of Nursing BScN, University of Toronto, Toronto, ON
2009 Critical Care Certificate, Humber College, Toronto, ON
2014 Master of Public Health MPH, University of Victoria, Victoria, BC



Publications:
Soukup-Baljak, Yuko, et al. "Drug quality assessment practices and communication of drug alerts among people who use drugs." International Journal of Drug Policy 26.12 (2015): 1251-1257.

Yuko has worked in the following areas over the course of 9 years: medicine, critical care and mental health. Her work experiences began at the University Health Network (UHN) in Toronto working at two hospitals, Toronto General and Toronto Western hospital on a medical nursing float pool for new graduates and concurrently working as an agency nurse on call for SRT Medstaff to support staff shortages in various hospitals throughout the greater Toronto area. Yuko transitioned to critical care to learn more about assessment beginning in emergency and then the cardiovascular intensive care unit where patients undergo coronary artery bypass procedures, heart transplants and vascular surgeries.  

With ongoing interest in mental health, a transition took place. She began working casually at the Centre for Addiction and Mental Health in Toronto while employed with UHN. This led to full time employment in the area of mood and anxiety, inpatient services. Remaining in mental health, Yuko relocated to BC. She joined the team at Venture, a step-down facility in Mount Pleasant, Vancouver, working for Vancouver Coastal Health and then became a community health nurse with the Act Bridging Team, an outreach program focused on hard to reach populations and finally serving as a case manager for three years.  Responsibilities involved coordinating appropriate housing, financial assistance, psychiatric assessments with their respective psychiatrist, referral to rehabilitation or vocational support services, counseling in various modalities (Addictions, Cognitive Behavior Therapy, Motivation Interviewing) and facilitating independence/integration with community resources.

Yuko's previous scholarship work was conducted in her practical placement at the BC Centre for Disease Control, which focused on harm reduction, specifically adulterated drugs. This study was published in the Journal of Drug and Policy and findings were presented at the Canadian Public Health Association Conference in May, 2014, in Toronto, Ontario.

Paramita Banerjee Instructor

Phone:
Office:
Email: pbanerjee@langara.ca

Paramita Banerjee, M.Ed., B.S.N., B.A.

Scholarly projects include:

2016 - Co-Investigator; Scoping Review of the Barriers and Facilitators to Enabling Scholarly Activity within Canadian Schools of Nursing, Langara College

2010: Co-Investigator; Men's Health Research Project, Vancouver Coastal Health Research Institute

1997: Research Assistant; Qualitative evaluation of peer home visitation program, McMaster University. 

Paramita's professional interests include Community Health, Aboriginal Health, Immigrant and Refugee Health, Social Justice in Health Care and the Social Determinants of Health.

Her teaching interests include experiential learning, collaborative teaching practices and online curriculum development. 

Simer Basi Instructor

Phone: 604.323.5511 ext. 2191
Office: C312
Email: sbasi@langara.ca

Salima Bhanji Instructor

Phone: 604.323.5511 ext. 2235
Office: C323a
Email: sbhanji@langara.ca

Susan Calvert Instructor

Phone: 604.323.5511 ext. 2212
Office: C323f
Email: scalvert@langara.ca

Sabrina Chahal Instructor

Phone: 604.323.5511 ext. 2197
Office: C317a
Email: schahal@langara.ca

Cathie Chin Instructor

Phone:
Office: T320B
Email: cchin@langara.ca

Lyren Chiu Instructor

Phone: 604.323.5511 ext. 2214
Office: L306b
Email: lchiu@langara.ca

Drisanna Chow Instructor

Phone:
Office: C307
Email: dchow@langara.ca

Laura Cottrell Instructor

Phone: 604.323.5511 ext. 2140
Office:
Email: lcottrell@langara.ca

Lysbeth Cunada Instructor

Phone:
Office:
Email: lcunada@langara.ca

Patrick de Sousa Workday Job

Phone: 604.323.5511
Office: C307
Email: pdesousa@langara.ca

Sarah Desbiens Instructor

Phone: 604.323.2482
Office:
Email: sdesbiens@langara.ca

Paravdip Dhaliwal Instructor

Phone: 604.323.5511 ext. 2081
Office: C316b
Email: pdhaliwal@langara.ca

Anna Douglas Instructor

Phone:
Office:
Email: adouglas@langara.ca

Alice Endrizzi Instructor

Phone: 604.323.5511 ext. 2234
Office: T320F
Email: aendrizzi@langara.ca

Lanie Fajardo Workday Job

Phone: 604.323.5511
Office: C317a
Email: lfajardo@langara.ca

Cristina Follador Instructor

Phone: 604.323.5511 ext. 2101
Office:
Email: cfollador@langara.ca

Melanie Forseng Instructor

Phone: 604.323.5511 ext. 2065
Office: T320E
Email: mforseng@langara.ca

Nargis Ghadiali Instructor

Phone: 604.323.5511 ext. 2192
Office: C317c
Email: nghadiali@langara.ca

Ivy Goula Instructor

Phone: 604.323.5511 ext. 2190
Office: C317c
Email: igoula@langara.ca

Preet Grewal Instructor

Phone: 604.323.2493
Office:
Email: ggrewal@langara.ca

Nina Heir Instructor

Phone: 604.323.5511 ext. 2364
Office: C313
Email: nheir@langara.ca

Wendy Hsu Instructor

Phone: 604.323.5072
Office: T320
Email: whsu@langara.ca

Kelly Hughes Instructor

Phone:
Office:
Email: khughes@langara.ca

Kelly Hughes graduated with her BSN from the University of British Columbia in 2004. She worked in a variety of settings, including medical, surgical, rehabilitation, and occupational health, before deciding to pursue a career in teaching. Kelly pursued her Master's degree in Nursing from the University of Southern Queensland in Australia, where she graduated with distinction. 

Kelly joined Langara College in 2007 where she has taught a variety of practice and theory courses. Her favourite course to teach is the skills course, as she has the opportunity to teach students exciting new skills, such as injections and dressing changes. She also enjoys previous and ongoing committee work with BCAHC and CASN.

Heather Hume Instructor

Phone: 604.323.5511 ext. 2105
Office: T320B
Email: hhume@langara.ca

Anne-Marie Hummelman Instructor

Phone: 604.323.5511 ext. 2418
Office: C317b
Email: ahummelman@langara.ca

Sarbjit Jaswal Workday Job

Phone: 604.323.5511
Office: C317a
Email: sjaswal@langara.ca

Patricia Johnston Instructor

Phone:
Office: C323c
Email: pjohnston@langara.ca

Tina Johnston Instructor

Phone: 604.323.5511 ext. 2124
Office: C323c
Email: tjohnston@langara.ca

Roberta Jokanovich Instructor

Phone: 604.323.5511 ext. 2111
Office: C307
Email: rjokanovich@langara.ca

Karima Kassam Instructor

Phone: 604.323.5511 ext. 2064
Office: T320E
Email: kkassam@langara.ca

Deborah Katz Instructor

Phone: 604.323.5511 ext. 2176
Office: L306b
Email: dkatz@langara.ca

Shelina Keys Instructor

Phone: 604.323.5511 ext. 2189
Office: C317c
Email: skeys@langara.ca

Baljit Khun-Khun Instructor

Phone: 604.323.5511 ext. 2188
Office: C316b
Email: bkhunkhun@langara.ca

William Konn Instructor

Phone:
Office:
Email: wkonn@langara.ca

Will graduated from the University of Victoria in 2012 with his Bachelor of Science in Nursing. Will completed his Emergency Nursing Certificate at BCIT in 2013. Will’s nursing background consists mostly in Emergency Nursing working at various hospitals including Burnaby, Royal Columbian and Mount St. Joseph. Will is currently enrolled at the University of British Columbia to complete his Masters in Health Leadership and Policy. Will has been teaching at Langara College since 2016 and continues to work in Emergency on a casual basis. 
Will currently teaches the Term 4 Skills course as well as a Practice course on the Orthopaedic unit at St. Paul’s Hospital. Will has been fortunate to teach in the PDC program, as well as other courses in Terms 3 and 4 in the BSN program. He is looking forward to what the future brings at Langara College Nursing and is eager to be a part of the School of Nursing.

Asha Kooner Instructor

Phone:
Office:
Email: akooner@langara.ca

Gladys Ka Hei Lai Instructor

Phone: 604.323.5511 ext. 2433
Office: C317a
Email: glai@langara.ca

Edmund Lee Instructor

Phone:
Office:
Email: edmundlee@langara.ca

Rich Lee Instructor

Phone:
Office: C317b
Email: richlee@langara.ca

Olivia Li Instructor

Phone: 604.323.5511 ext. 2274
Office:
Email: oli@langara.ca

Yujin Lim Instructor

Phone: 604.323.5511 ext. 2430
Office: C317
Email: ylim@langara.ca

Reyla Lopez Instructor

Phone: 604.323.5511 ext. 2203
Office: C317b
Email: rlopez@langara.ca

Wendy Low Workday Job

Phone: 604.323.5808
Office: T320C
Email: wlow@langara.ca

Tara Lum Instructor

Phone: 604.323.5511 ext. 2093
Office: T320
Email: tlum@langara.ca

Kim Macfarlane Workday Job

Phone:
Office:
Email: kmacfarlane@langara.ca

Manpreet Mann-Mattoo Instructor

Phone: 604.323.5511 ext. 2435
Office: C317a
Email: mmannmattoo@langara.ca

Tara Mants Workday Job

Phone:
Office:
Email: tmants@langara.ca

Karen McColgan Instructor

Phone: 604.323.5511 ext. 2278
Office: C316a
Email: kmccolgan@langara.ca

Bethani McLeod Instructor

Phone: 604.323.5511 ext. 2080
Office: C307
Email: bmcleod@langara.ca

Dionne Ng Instructor

Phone: 604.323.5511 ext. 2255
Office: C307
Email: dionneng@langara.ca

Christine Nystrom Instructor

Phone: 604.323.5511 ext. 2043
Office: C307
Email: cnystrom@langara.ca

Ro Ofreneo Instructor

Phone: 604.323.5511 ext. 2236
Office: C312
Email: rofreneo@langara.ca

Hana Pecinova Instructor

Phone:
Office: C316a
Email: hpecinova@langara.ca

Myra Percy Assistant Chair

Phone:
Office:
Email: mpercy@langara.ca

Mary Peters Instructor

Phone: 604.323.5511 ext. 2376
Office: C316a
Email: mpeters@langara.ca

Wanda Pierson Instructor

Phone:
Office: B245e
Email: wpierson@langara.ca

Susan Pribanic Workday Job

Phone: 604.323.5511
Office: C317b
Email: spribanic@langara.ca

Thea Quinones Instructor

Phone: 604.323.5511 ext. 2179
Office:
Email: tquinones@langara.ca

Ravinder Rakhra Instructor

Phone: 604.323.5511 ext. 2201
Office:
Email: rrakhra@langara.ca

Brooke Raphael Instructor

Phone:
Office:
Email: brookeraphael@langara.ca

Sarah Reeves Instructor

Phone: 604.323.5511 ext. 2419
Office: C316b
Email: sreeves@langara.ca

Sarah graduated from Douglas College with her diploma in nursing in 1993. She then attended UBC where she attained her BSN, followed by her MSN.

Giselle Rogers Instructor

Phone: 604.323.5511 ext. 2152
Office: C316a
Email: grogers@langara.ca

Sharon Ronaldson Instructor

Phone:
Office: C317b
Email: sronaldson@langara.ca

Gregory Slawson Workday Job

Phone: 604.323.5511
Office: C317b
Email: gslawson@langara.ca

Yvonne Solway Instructor

Phone: 604.323.5511 ext. 2613
Office:
Email: ysolway@langara.ca

Sharon Stunder Instructor

Phone:
Office: C323e
Email: sstunder@langara.ca

Michelle Su Instructor

Phone: 604.323.5511 ext. 2237
Office: C316b
Email: msu@langara.ca

Pauline Sumel Instructor

Phone: 604.323.5511 ext. 2154
Office: C323a
Email: psumel@langara.ca

Roberta Swanson-Holm Instructor

Phone: 604.323.5511 ext. 2177
Office: C323b
Email: rswanson@langara.ca

Sara Thind Instructor

Phone:
Office:
Email: sthind@langara.ca

Denise Thomas Instructor

Phone: 604.323.5511 ext. 2213
Office: C307
Email: dthomas@langara.ca

Veryl Tipliski Instructor

Phone: 604.323.5511 ext. 2106
Office: L311c
Email: vtipliski@langara.ca

Alex Tripunov Instructor

Phone: 604.323.5511 ext. 2107
Office:
Email: atripunov@langara.ca

Patricia Woods Instructor

Phone: 604.323.5511 ext. 2218
Office: C323d
Email: pwoods@langara.ca

Morgan Yates Instructor

Phone: 604.323.5511 ext. 2220
Office:
Email: myates@langara.ca

Douglas Yochim Instructor

Phone: 604.323.5511
Office: T320A
Email: dyochim@langara.ca