Noushine Afshar Instructor

Phone:
Office: A264d
Email: nafshar@langara.ca

Deyar Asmaro Instructor - NT

Phone: 604.323.5511 ext. 2036
Office:
Email: dasmaro@langara.ca

Suparna Bakaya Instructor

Phone: 604.323.5511 ext. 2308
Office:
Email: sbakaya@langara.ca

Jim Barton Instructor

Phone:
Office:
Email: jbarton@langara.ca

Crystal Byun Instructional Assistant (d) Psychology

Phone: 604.323.5875
Office: A266a
Email: cbyun@langara.ca

Angel Chen Instructor

Phone: 604.323.5511 ext. 2531
Office: C264h
Email: achen@langara.ca

Troy Chenier Workday Job

Phone: 604.323.5511
Office: C264f
Email: tchenier@langara.ca

Caroline Greaves Instructor

Phone: 604.323.5511 ext. 2319
Office: C264e
Email: cgreaves@langara.ca

Ruth Kirson Instructor

Phone:
Office: A264f
Email: rkirson@langara.ca

Education: Ruth received her MA from Simon Fraser University and did PhD graduate work at both the University of British Columbia and the University of Oregon before joining the Psychology Department at Langara College in 1999. She is also a faculty member in the Psychology Department at Vancouver Island University.

Teaching Interests/Courses: Ruth's teaching interests include Introductory Psychology, Social Psychology, Health Psychology, Developmental Psychology and the Psychology of Leadership & Groups. She also has a special interest in teaching, learning and technology and has been teaching online courses for over a decade.

Academic Interests: Ruth’s research interests include the development of healthy individuals and communities with special interests in caregiver-infant interaction, language development, fostering resilience, and research ethics. She has served as a Research Ethics Board Chair for six years.

Other: Ruth welcomes the opportunity to work collectively with colleagues and students. She is currently working on building a Western Resilience Network.

Erin Lea Instructor

Phone: 604.323.5248
Office: A264a
Email: elea@langara.ca

Education: Erin holds an MA and PhD in Cognitive and Behavioural Neuroscience from The University of Waterloo. She completed her undergraduate degree in Cognitive Neuroscience at the University of Western Ontario.

Teaching Interests/Courses: Erin currently teaches courses in Introductory Psychology, Research Methods, Statistics, and Cognition. She has previously taught courses in Human Memory and Behavioural Neuroscience. Erin is very interested in using newly developed online technologies to improve the student learning experience and teaches most of her courses in a hybrid (or mixed mode) format.

Academic Interests: Erin's main research interest is human memory and she has conducted research exploring memory performance in normal healthy adults, older adults, and individuals who have suffered from traumatic brain injuries. She is currently working with Dr. Myra Fernandes at the University of Waterloo on a functional Magnetic Resonance Imaging (fMRI) study exploring the brain regions involved in the recollection of information. Erin's work has been published in various academic journals including Neuropsychologia, Journal of the International Neuropsychological Society, and Psychology and Aging.

Other: Outside of work, Erin can often be found reading in her favourite chair with her cat Soya curled up on her lap. She also likes to stay active and is currently taking lessons in Brazilian Jiu Jitsu. 

Helene Lestage Instructor

Phone: 604.323.5511
Office: C264k
Email: hlestage@langara.ca

Valerie Lloyd Instructor

Phone: 604.323.5870
Office: C264d
Email: vlloyd@langara.ca

Kathleen McBride Instructional Assistant

Phone: 604.323.5373
Office: A266a
Email: kmcbride@langara.ca

Susan McBride Instructor

Phone: 604.323.5869
Office: A264f
Email: smcbride@langara.ca

Susan Numerow Instructor

Phone: 604.323.5873
Office: A264e
Email: snumerow@langara.ca

Jennifer Poole Instructor

Phone: 604.323.5872
Office: A264c
Email: jpoole@langara.ca

Education: Jennifer holds an MA and PhD from Simon Fraser University. She completed her undergraduate degree at the University of Waterloo.

Teaching Interests/Courses: Jennifer has taught a range of courses including Introductory Psychology, Research Methods, Statistics, Developmental Psychology, and Social Psychology. She has a special interest in combining the best aspects of face-to-face and online teaching formats to create hybrid (or mixed mode) courses. She enjoys using new technologies in the classroom to enhance student engagement.

Academic Interests: Over the years, Jennifer has conducted research in the areas of children’s empathy and prosocial behavior, and adult attachment. More recently, she has become interested in the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning, studying factors that enhance student engagement and performance, as well as student perceptions of learning in mixed mode courses. She is a member of the Society for the Teaching of Psychology, the Association for Psychological Science, and the American Psychological Association. She is also an author for the first Canadian edition of the introductory psychology text Making Connections (McGraw-Hill, 2012).

Other: When not engaging with her students and being passionate about her teaching, Jennifer loves to travel, walk her dog, and sip a latte at her favourite local coffee shop! 

Linda Scratchley Instructor

Phone:
Office: C264a
Email: lscratchley@langara.ca

Alexandria Sowden Instructional Assistant (d) Psychology

Phone: 604.323.5875
Office: A266a
Email: asowden@langara.ca

Ross Woolley Instructor

Phone: 604.323.5866
Office: C264c
Email: rwoolley@langara.ca