Registrar & Enrolment Services is responsible for conducting elections for faculty, staff, and student representative positions on the Board of Governors and Education Council.

Board of Governors

Empowered by the College and Institute Act of British Columbia (1996), the Langara College Board of Governors’ primary responsibility is to oversee the strategic direction and management of the College and ensure it carries out its mission. To that end, the primary functions and roles of the College Board are to establish the institution’s purpose and direction; to ensure the institution is effectively and efficiently managed; to establish policies that have institution-wide application; and to provide effective communication with the community.

There are eight government appointed, four elected, and two ex-officio Members of the Langara College Board of Governors. The elected members represent their group as a whole – i.e.: the two student-elected members represent the Langara College student body as a whole; the faculty-elected member represents Langara College Faculty Association members; and, the support staff-elected member represents Langara College CUPE (local 15) members.

Education Council

The role and responsibilities of Education Council are defined by the College and Institute Act of British Columbia (1996). It is responsible for approving curriculum content and policies concerning student evaluation, withdrawal, academic standing, appeals, grading, and awards for excellence. The Education Council is composed of ten elected faculty members, four student-elected members, two support-staff elected members and four educational administrators appointed by the Langara president.

Election Procedures

Current Elections

Curriculum Review Committee By-Elections

Positions Available Term of Office Status
Support Staff Representative (1) August 2, 2022 – November 30, 2023 Elected: Sophie Bennett

Election results can be viewed at

Eligibility for Nomination

The Act defines Support Staff as "the employees of the institution who are not the president, educational administrators or faculty members." For the purpose of this election process, all Langara CUPE support staff on the voters’ list whose employment by Langara College extends to the end of the term of the position at the time of the election shall be eligible to service and to vote. Upon termination of employment during the term of office, an elected support staff forfeits the position unless there are exceptional circumstances such as a grievance resolution pending.

Election Timeline and Important Dates

Notice of By-Election and Call for Nominations (campaign statements will be available below):
Tuesday, July 12, 2022 at 9:30 am – Monday, July 18, 2022 at 4:00 pm

Campaign period:
Tuesday, July 19, 2022 at 9:30 am – Monday, July 25, 2022 at 4:00 pm

Voting (through
Tuesday, July 26, 2022 at 9:30 am – Tuesday, August 2, 2022 at 4:00 pm

Election Notes

Nomination packages will be available to view on this election page during the nomination period. Nominees are required to be nominated by the minimum requirement of nominators in good standing as outlined in applicable election procedures. Nominations are to be submitted electronically and will only be accepted during the call for nominations period. Nominations received prior to or after the close of the nomination period will not be accepted.

Candidate platform statements will be available to view on this election page during the campaigning period.

Votes will be cast via SimplyVoting during the voting period. Eligible voters will receive an email with a secured voting link and instructions.

Further information regarding elections, can be found in the Elections Procedures above. If you have questions regarding elections, please contact