Dec 1, 2020

Vancouver, BC – The Langara Journalism program will be well represented at this year’s 2020 Jack Webster Awards. Langara connections are nominated across four categories and will be recognized in the virtual ceremony. Several alumni and instructors will vie for a Webster Award honouring excellence in British Columbia journalism.

A current student will also be recognized with one of two Indigenous Student Journalism Awards.

The winner in each category will be announced during the December 8th online awards ceremony, 6:00pm PST. Submissions were encouraged from print, radio/podcasts, television and online media sources that cover news, sports, the arts, business, community issues, and more.

The Langara nominees (in bold) and the categories in which they are nominated are:

Best Breaking News Reporting - Print/Online

Mike Hager, Ian Bailey, Andrea Woo, Rafal Gerszak, Chad Hipolito, Jana Pruden, Renata D'Aliesio, Melissa Tait, Justin Ling
The Globe and Mail

Stephanie Ip, Gordon Hoekstra, Nick Eagland, Scott Brown, Tiffany Crawford, Keith Fraser, Dan Fumano, Nathan Griffiths,Glenda Luymes, Gordon McIntyre, Derrick Penner, Jennifer Saltman, Rob Shaw
Vancouver Sun/The Province
B.C. Pandemic 2020

Best Breaking News Reporting - Radio/Podcast/Audio

Sonia Aslam, Alison Bailey, Marcella Bernardo, Tim James, Martin MacMahon, Cormac MacSweeney, Peter Wagner
Canada's First COVID-19 Death

Excellence in Feature/Enterprise Reporting - Print/Online

Gordon Hoekstra
Vancouver Sun
Anatomy of Money Laundering in B.C. Real Estate: 12 cases, $1.7 billion, 20 countries and 30 banks

Jack Webster Business, Industry, Labour & Economics Award

Jon Woodward, Shannon Paterson, Ross McLaughlin, St. John Alexander, Allison Hurst, David Molko, Andrew Weichel, Bob Mackin
CTV Vancouver
Economic Catastrophe - BC Business Faces the Pandemic

City Mike Award (Commentator of the Year)

Wawmeesh Hamilton & Gordon Loverin
CBC Vancouver
Urban Nation

Also, during the awards broadcast the 2020 Bruce Hutchison Lifetime Achievement Award will be presented to John Daly, presently with 980 CKNW, and the 2020 Bill Good Award will be presented to Candis Callison, Associate Professor UBC School of Journalism, Writing, and Media & Institute for Critical Indigenous Studies. The broadcast will be hosted by Anita Bathe, co-host and front-line investigative reporter, CBC Vancouver News.

About the Jack Webster Foundation
Jack Webster, one of the BC's best-known journalists, left a legacy of more than 40 years of insightful, accurate and uncompromising reporting in print, radio and television. The Jack Webster Foundation was established in 1986, upon the retirement of its namesake, who was Western Canada's best-known and most influential reporter, in order to foster and celebrate excellence in journalism, protect the public interest for British Columbian's, and create a community where trusted outstanding journalism thrives.

About Langara College
Located in beautiful Vancouver, B.C., Canada, snəw̓eyəɬ leləm̓ Langara College provides University, Career, and Continuing Studies education to more than 23,000 students annually. With more than 1,700 courses and 130 programs, Langara’s expansive academic breadth and depth allows students of all ages, backgrounds, and life stages to choose their own educational path. Langara is also known as 'house of teachings', a name given to it by the Musqueam people on whose unceded traditional territory the College is located.

Learn more.
Mark Dawson
Manager, Public Affairs
Langara College