Sep 9, 2019

Vancouver, BC – Several Langara Journalism program instructors and alumni have been nominated for 2019 Jack Webster Awards recognizing excellence in BC journalism. Langara graduates always feature prominently at the Websters, and this year was no exception as 13 graduates and three faculty members received nominations. The finalists will be celebrated and the winner in each category announced at the November 7th awards dinner to be held at the Hyatt Regency, Vancouver.

The Langara nominees (in bold) and the categories in which they are nominated are:

Best Breaking News Reporting - Print/Text-Based Online

  • Frances BulaThe Globe and Mail
    Campaign Finance: The Civic Edition
  • Justine Hunter, Gary Mason, Ian Bailey, The Globe and Mail
    Legislature Scandal
  • Jesse Winter, Perrin Grauer, Ainslie Cruickshank, David Ball, Alex McKeen, Cherise Seucharan, Star Vancouver
    Wet'suwet'en on the Edge

Best Breaking News Reporting - Radio

  • Sonia Aslam, Alison Bailey, Jim Bennie, Matt Coppin, Estefania Duran, Monika Gul, Tim James, Toby Kerr, Ria Renouf, Denise Wong, NEWS 1130
    Peace Arch Crash

Excellence in Feature/Enterprise Reporting - Radio

  • Clare Hennig, Jean Paetkau, Andrew Kurjata, Mike ClarkeCBC Victoria
    Beyond Beads and Bannock

Excellence in Feature/Enterprise Reporting - Television

  • Jon Woodward, Scott Roberts, Mi-Jung Lee, Bhinder Sajan, Penny Daflos, St. John Alexander, David Molko, CTV Vancouver
    Legislature Spending Scandal
  • Sam Cooper, John Hua, Ted Anhorn, Sergio Magro, Tavis Dunn, Global BC News
    Casino Diaries

Jack Webster Award for Excellence in Digital Journalism

  • Gordon Hoekstra and Nathan Griffiths, The Vancouver Sun
    Online database: More than 120 recommendations delivered to tackle money laundering in BC, Canada

Jack Webster Award for Community Reporting

  • Dustin Godfrey, Abbotsford News
    Finding a way home
  • Wawmeesh HamiltonCloe Logan, Francesca Fionda, Robin Perelle, Uytae Lee, Zachary Kershman
    The Discourse for Fake Art

Jack Webster Award for Excellence in Legal Journalism

  • Jason Proctor, Vivian Luk, Stephen Quinn, Geoff Walter, Theresa Duvall, CBC Vancouver
  • Gordon Hoekstra and Kim Bolan, The Vancouver Sun
    Money-laundering prosecutions rare, difficult in BC

Also presented at the awards dinner will be the 2019 Bruce Hutchison Lifetime Achievement Award and the 2019 Bill Good Award.

Jack Webster, one of the BC's best-known journalists, left a legacy of more than 40 years of insightful, accurate and uncompromising reporting in print, radio and television. The foundation was established in 1986 to recognize and encourage excellence in BC Journalism.

For more information, please visit

About Langara College
Located in beautiful Vancouver, B.C., Canada, snəw̓eyəɬ leləm̓ Langara College provides University, Career, and Continuing Studies education to more than 23,000 students annually. With more than 1,700 courses and 130 programs, Langara’s expansive academic breadth and depth allows students of all ages, backgrounds, and life stages to choose their own educational path. Langara is also known as 'house of teachings', a name given to it by the Musqueam people on whose unceded traditional territory the College is located. Langara is celebrating its 49th year on West 49th Avenue with Beyond 49, an integrated celebration, alumni engagement, and fundraising campaign to reconnect with alumni, and raise funds for student support and important College initiatives.

 About the Jack Webster Foundation

The Jack Webster Foundation was established in 1986 by the community to recognize excellence in British Columbia journalism in honour of legendary BC reporter, Jack Webster. BC-based journalists reporting for BC news organizations on stories for BC audiences were eligible to enter the 2019 Jack Webster Awards. Entries published or aired between June 1, 2018 and May 31, 2019 were eligible. Entries were submitted by a journalist or team of journalists working in print, radio, TV, and online media.

Learn more.

Mark Dawson
Manager, Public Affairs