Jun 24, 2015

Vancouver, BC - Congratulations to Langara College’s Theatre Arts Program at Studio 58 alumni who were Jessie Awards winners this year. The 33rd Annual Jessie Richardson Theatre Awards were held Monday, June 22, 2015 at the Commodore Ballroom honouring the best of the theatrical season.

Recognizing excellence in theatre, the Jessies are divided into three categories – Large Theatre, Small Theatre and Theatre for Young Audiences – along with a variety of special awards.

"What an amazing way to enter our 50th Anniversary Season!  At the Jessies, our graduates were recognized as actors, designers, directors, stage managers and ensemble members,” said Kathryn Shaw, Artistic Director at Studio 58. “I am so proud of all of the winners and of all who were nominated, including Studio 58's production of Kosmic Mambo!"

And the Jessie goes to…
Large Theatre:

  • Outstanding Performance by an Actor in a Lead Role - Joey Lespérance, À toi, pour toujours, ta Marie-Lou, Théâtre la Seizième
  • Outstanding Performance by an Actor in a Supporting Role - Dean Paul Gibson, Saint Joan, Arts Club Theatre Company
    Gibson dedicates the award to his father, whom he lost this year. “He said: ‘I like it when you do the directing, I didn’t always get it, but it’s nice to see you up there’.”
  • Outstanding Set Design - Drew Facey, À toi, pour toujours, ta Marie-LouThéâtre la Seizième

Small Theatre:

  • Outstanding Production - Play - Our Town, Osimous Theatre* - *Studio 58 alumni created theatre company (Bob Frazer)
  • Outstanding Performance by an Actor in a Lead Role - Scott Bellis, After Me (Après Moi), Ruby Slippers Theatre
    “In the end it’s really about the people who come together, who laugh together, who tell the stories and send it out to the people.”
  • Outstanding Performance by an Actress in a Supporting Role - Lindsey Angell, Iceland, Dirt Road Productions
  • Outstanding Set Design - Drew Facey, Blasted, Pi Theatre 

Theatre for Young Audiences:

  • Outstanding Artistic Creation - Rachel Peake, Selfie, Théâtre la Seizième, Direction
  • Outstanding Performance - Julie Trépanier, Siona Gareau-Brennan, Vincent Leblanc-Beaudoin, Selfie, Théâtre la Seizième 

Significant Achievement Awards:

  • Significant Artistic Achievement (Small Theatre) Outstanding Ensemble Performance
    Bob Frazer, Craig Erickson, Quelemia Stacey Sparrow, John Shaw, Dawn Petten, Lauren Jackson, Chris Cope, Varya Rubin, Our Town, Osimous Theatre
  • Significant Artistic Achievement (Theatre for Young Audiences)
    Jessica Oostergo and Shizuka Kai, Hamelin – A New Fable, Axis Theatre, Outstanding Design Concept and Execution

Special Awards:

  • Ray Michal Prize for Emerging Director presented by Ray’s son to Cameron Mackenzie, a graduate of Studio 58 and founder of Zee Zee Theatre. “I’m constantly amazed by the commitment, passion, the drive, and the talent this community has.”
  • Sam Payne Award for the Most Promising Newcomer Sarah Mabberley
  • John Moffat and Larry Lillo Prize - “We give this award each year, in their memory, to encourage a local artist to pursue their hearts desire.” Jill Daum 

Studio 58 alumni at Jessie Richardson Theatre Awards 2015 

Photo of Bob Frazer and the Our Town cast, courtesy of the Jessie Richardson Awards.