Nov 22, 2010

Past and present Langara Journalism students got recognized for their talent and achievements with the Jack Webster Foundation this past month.

Michaela Garstin and Michael Hager were recipients of the Jack Webster Foundation Student Journalism Awards. Garstin received the BC Hydro Award, while Mike Hager received the Don Matheson Endowment Award. Both students are currently enrolled in the 8-month Journalism certificate program, and are expected to graduate in April 2011.

Each year, the Jack Webster Foundation awards 7 scholarships to students committed to a journalism career. Students from Langara, BCIT, Kwantlen, Thompson Rivers and UBC apply for the scholarship and write essays on why they want to pursue a career in journalism.

"It's a tremendous boost for Michaela and Michael to win such an important award. Besides the financial support to complete their education, the award identifies them as the cream of the crop to editors and producers across the province," said Anne Roberts, chair of the journalism department.

Accolades continued for Langara alumni at the Jack Webster Awards dinner on November 1, 2010.

Gordon Hoekstra, Prince George Citizen reporter won the Jack Webster Business, Industry and Economics Award. Hoekstra graduated in 1993.

Well-known Globe & Mail columnist Gary Mason won the Jack Webster award for Best Commentator of the Year. A 1982 graduate, Mason also won the award for Best Reporting of the Year for his article on “The Olympic Village Scandal” in 2009.

Jack Webster, one of the BC's best-known journalists, left a legacy of more than 40 years of insightful, accurate and uncompromising reporting in print, radio and television. The foundation was established in 1986 to recognize and encourage excellence in BC Journalism.

For more information, please visit