These workshops are free for Langara students to attend. No registration is required, but please be on time.
WORKSHOPS SUMMER 2019

Time Management (Kaveh)
Learn tips on managing your time for the semester and how to budget time for classes, studying and leisure activities.

Monday, May 13, 11:30-12:30    Room L216
Monday, May 13, 3:30-4:30        Room L216
Monday, June 3, 11:30-12:30     Room L216
Monday, June 3, 3:30-4:30         Room L216
Tuesday, July 2, 11:30-12:30      Room L216
Tuesday, July 2, 3:30-4:30          Room L216

Learning Memory (Kaveh)
There will be some general techniques and exercises to improve your memory for your course work and exams. Bring notes and books that give you the most difficulty.

Thursday, May 9, 11:30-12:30     Room L216
Thursday, May 9, 2:00-3:00         Room L216
Tuesday, June 4, 11:30-12:30      Room L216
Tuesday, June 4, 3:30-4:30          Room L216
Wednesday, July 3, 11:30-12:30  Room L216
Wednesday, July 3, 3:30-4:30      Room L216

Speed-Reading (Kaveh)
This practical, hands-on workshop will teach you to read faster and to master larger chunks of information in shorter periods of time. Note that students MUST bring their own classroom textbooks.

Wednesday, May 15, 11:30-12:30    Room L216
Wednesday, May 15, 3:30-4:30        Room L216
Wednesday, June 5, 11:30-12:30     Room L216
Wednesday, June 5, 3:30-4:30         Room L216
Thursday, July 4, 11:30-12:30          Room L216
Thursday, July 4, 2:00-3:00              Room L216


Concentration for Better Performance (Kaveh)
Students are given specific techniques (e.g. Mastery Learning) that can enhance focus and concentration, leading to a significant increase in academic performance.

Thursday, May 30, 2:00-3:00       Room L216


Resilience 101: From Stress to Success (Merike)
This workshop will discuss the strategies and mindsets that will help you bounce back from difficulty, persist during a challenge, and experience personal and academic success!

Wednesday, May 15, 1:30-2:30      Room L216


Brain, Emotions, Health (Kaveh)
We will explore the relationship between the brain and emotions, and how this relationship affects health.

Friday, May 31, 2:30-3:30     Room L216


Improve Your Thinking - Improve Your GPA (Kaveh)
This workshop will introduce students to styles of thinking that can help improve grades.

Wednesday, May 22, 3:30-4:30    Room L216


Take Better Notes Get Better Grades (Kaveh)
In this workshop, we will focus on a variety of strategies for taking good notes.

Friday, May 17, 11:30-12:30      Room L216
Friday, May 17, 2:30-3:30          Room L216
Thursday, June 6, 2:00-3:00      Room L216
Friday, June 7, 2:30-3:30           Room L216
Friday, July 5, 2:30-3:30            Room L216
Monday, July 8, 2:30-3:30         Room L216


Overcoming Procrastination (Tim)
During this workshop, we will discuss the causes for procrastination and explore strategies for overcoming this problem.

Tuesday, May 28, 2:30-3:30           Room L216
Wednesday, June 19, 1:30-2:30     Room L216


Unleash Your Genius Become an A+ Student
(Kaveh)
This workshop will present the latest research findings in Learning and Motivation that pertain to achieving maximum success in school as well as work and relationships. The primary focus of this workshop will be on Dweck's Growth Mind-Set research

Friday, May 24, 2:30-3:30     Room L216


Stress Management (Tim)
During this workshop, you will learn about the process that causes stress, and about how you can reduce and manage the stress in your life.

Monday, June 3, 1:30-2:30       Room L216
Thursday, June 20, 2:30-3:30   Room L216


Super-Learning Strategies for Better Grades (Kaveh)
This workshop introduces students to the latest techniques for Super learning to achieve higher grades.

Friday, May 24, 11:30-12:30    Room L216


Happiness: Learn About You Become Happy (Kaveh)
This workshop focuses on the scientific basis of Happiness and the latest and most practical research findings that are now being applied to help participants elevate their level of Happiness on a day to day basis.

Friday, June 21, 2:30-3:30    Room L216
Friday, July 19, 2:30-3:30     Room L216


Meditation Benefits for Mental Health Higher Grades (Kaveh) [New!]
This workshop will examine three of the most effective Meditation (e.g. Focused Awareness, Mindfulness) and emotional management strategies that help improve mental health and contribute to achieving a higher GPA. Students will also be introduced to the impact of Growth Mind-strategies and their potential for expanding brain capacity.

Friday, June 14, 2:30-3:30    Room L216
Friday, July 12, 2:30-3:30     Room L216


Final Exams Test Anxiety (Kaveh)
In this workshop participants learn how to deal with stress and exam anxiety, as well as specific techniques for taking multiple-choice, true and false and essay type exams.

Monday, July 29, 11:30-12:30     Room L216
Monday, July 29, 3:30-4:30         Room L216
Tuesday, July 30, 11:30-12:30    Room L216
Tuesday, July 30, 3:30-4:30        Room L216