The Recreation Advisory Committee plays an invaluable role in the Department of Recreation Studies. The committee is comprised of professionals in the recreation field including municipal, private, and non-profit recreation agencies. On a semiannual basis, the Recreation Advisory Committee and the Department of Recreation Studies faculty meet and work together by sharing and discussing both practical and educational insights in the current field. Consequently, both Recreation Studies programs – the Recreation Leadership Diploma Program and Bachelor of Recreation Management Program, continue to improve and shape its curriculum to better prepare the students and meet the needs of today’s recreation agencies.

Below are our current Recreation Advisory Committee members:


Chris Siddaway (Chair)
Coordinator - Plans, Policies, and Community - City of Coquitlam


Heather Nivison
Programs Manager - Vancouver Lawn & Tennis Club


Tara Nazemi
Community Engagement Assistant - Vancouver Civic Theatres, City of Vancouver Parks and Recreation 


Susie Saunders
Manager, Recreation Services - City of Vancouver

Jennifer Folkersen
Recreation Programmer - North Vancouver Recreation & Culture Commission 

Julie Milner
Chief Operating Officer - International Council on Active Aging

Corinne Ambor 
Parks Stewardship Manager - District of West Vancouver