Langara believes that everyone has the right to be treated with respect on campus. We are committed to ensuring that all members of the college – be it student, faculty, or employee – are be able to learn, teach and work in an environment free from harassment, discrimination, and violence, sexual or otherwise.

In February 2017, the College developed a standalone college-wide sexual violence and misconduct policy. This policy addresses sexual assault, sexual harassment, misconduct, and other preventable episodes requiring a response. The policy also outlines a variety of procedures and provides a comprehensive list of services and supports that are accessible to victims and survivors. It was developed in accordance with Bill 23 – the Sexual Violence and Misconduct Act – legislated in April 2016 by the BC provincial government. Since February, the College has been working on developing various programs and supporting collateral as part of the College's sexual violence prevention initiatives. 


Resources for employees who have experienced sexual violence

If you or someone you know has experienced sexual violence or harassment, please contact:
Parizad Mistry, Director, Human Resources Operations
604.323.5815 | pmistry@langara.ca

Click here to access off-campus resources and supports. 


Sexual Respect Ambassador Program

This program, led by the Office of Student Conduct & Academic Integrity and People and Culture, is intended to train employees on how to respond to individuals who disclose sexual violence incidents. Any employees who work closely with students, or are interested in supporting the program are eligible. Please contact Parizad Mistry at pmistry@langara.ca or Maggie Ross at maggieross@langara.ca for further information.

Langara employees can find resources (print and online) related to the Sexual Violence & Misconduct Policy (B3009) by following these instructions:

  1. Log in to myLangara.
  2. Under "Teaching Resources," click on Student Conduct & Academic Integrity Resources
  3. Click on the Sexual Violence Support Resources folder

If you have any questions or concerns, please contact Student Conduct & Academic Integrity. 

Current List of Sexual Respect Ambassadors (updated October 2020)

Name Email
Alana Olson
Instructor, Continuing Studies
aolson@langara.ca
Alexandra Capistrano
International Student Coordinator, International Education
acapistrano@langara.ca
Ana Gupta
Instructor, Business Management and International Business
agupta@langara.ca
Andrea Biason
Supervisor, Information Services, Registrar and Enrollment Services
abiason@langara.ca
Azaia Windwraith
Advisor, Registrar and Enrollment Services
awindwraith@langara.ca
Brenda Marson
Academic Manager, Continuing Studies
bmarson@langara.ca
Catherine Huth 
Department Chair, Criminal Justice
chuth@langara.ca
Chantal Faucher
Instructor, Criminal Justice
cfaucher@langara.ca
Charlotte Sander
Communications Officer, Communications & Marketing
csander@langara.ca
Claudia Chan
Department Services Assistant, Faculty of Social Sciences and Community Programs
claudiachan@langara.ca
Crystal Byun
Instructional Assistant, Pyschology
cbyun@langara.ca
Dae Backus
Program Coordinator, Continuing Studies
dbackus@langara.ca
Daryl Smith
Director, Internationalization
dsmith@langara.ca
Deborah Schratter
Communications Officers, Communications & Marketing
dschratter@langara.ca
Denise Busayong
Administrative Coordinator, Student Services
dbusayong@langara.ca
Diana Falcon
Executive Assistant, Office of the Vice President
dfalcon@langara.ca
Erica Yagi
Supervisor, Registrar and Enrollment Services
eyagi@langara.ca
Erin Hagen
Student Conduct Officer, Student Conduct and Academic Integrity
ehagen@langara.ca
Felipe Moreira
International Student Coordinator, International Education
ffurtadomoreira@langara.ca
Harkit Dhillon
Academic Manager, Continuing Studies
hdhillon@langara.ca
Jagjeet Gill
Accomodation Assistant, Accessibility Services
jagjeetgill@langara.ca
Jake McCallum 
Director, Athletics & Intramurals
jmccallum@langara.ca
Jason Currier
Assistant, CS Registrar and Enrollment Services
jcurrier@langara.ca
Jennifer Brown
Library Assistant, Library Services
jbrown@langara.ca
Jennifer Knapp 
Coordinator, Interdisciplinary Studies
jknapp@langara.ca
Jennifer Paige
Manager, International Student Services, International Education
jpaige@langara.ca
Jennifer Riley
Department Assistant, Student Engagement
jriley@langara.ca
Lara Griner
Development Officer, Faculty of Management
lgriner@langara.ca
Laurie Lowes
Instructor, Criminal Justice
llowes@langara.ca
Lealle Ruhl
Coordinator/Instructor, Peace & Conflict Studies
lruhl@langara.ca
Maggie Ross
Director, Student Conduct and Academic Integrity
maggieross@langara.ca
Maggie Stewart
Volunteer Program Coordinator, Student Engagement
mstewart@langara.ca
Makiko Yao
Medical Office Assistant, Student Health Services
makikoyao@langara.ca
Meaghan Rafferty
Library Technician, Library Services
mrafferty@langara.ca
Melissa Roberts
Department Chair, Criminal Justice
mroberts@langara.ca
Michelle Carter
Operations and Adminstrative Manager, Student Services
michellecarter@langara.ca
Mono Brown
Instructor, English
mmbrown@langara.ca
Moses Lam
Instructor, Continuing Studies
moseslam@langara.ca
Niall Christie
Instructor, History & Latin
nchristie@langara.ca
Pak Ka Liu
Program Coordinator, Continuing Studies
pkliu@langara.ca
Patricia Wong
Human Resources Consultant, People and Culture
pwong@langara.ca
Peter So
Instructional Assistant, Indigenous Education and Services
pso@langara.ca
Peter Vysek
Instructor, Design Formation  
pvysek@langara.ca
Sam Van Dyck
Student Engagement Officer, Indigenous Education Services
svandyck@langara.ca
Sarah Bell
Counsellor, Counselling
sbell@langara.ca
Shahin Virji
Development Officer, Langara Foundation
svirji@langara.ca
Shelley-Anne Vidal
Instructor, Co-op and Career Development
svidal@langara.ca
Shyanne Boudreau
Manager, Indigenous Education and Services
sboudreau@langara.ca
Stephanie Koonar
Instructor, Marketing Management
skoonar@langara.ca
Tanya Miller
Mental Health Initiatives Consultant, Student Services
tanyamiller@langara.ca
Tess Khan
Department Services Assistant, Faculty of Social Sciences and Community Programs
tkhan@langara.ca
Tiffany Johnstone
Instructor, English 
tjohnstone@langara.ca
Yukino Obara
Financial Aid Advisor, Registrar and Enrollment Services
yobara@langara.ca

Policy