Langara believes that everyone has the right to be treated with respect on campus. We are committed to ensuring that all members of the college – be it student, faculty, or employee – are be able to learn, teach and work in an environment free from harassment, discrimination, and violence, sexual or otherwise.

In February 2017, the College developed a standalone college-wide sexual violence and misconduct policy. This policy addresses sexual assault, sexual harassment, misconduct, and other preventable episodes requiring a response. The policy also outlines a variety of procedures and provides a comprehensive list of services and supports that are accessible to victims and survivors. It was developed in accordance with Bill 23 – the Sexual Violence and Misconduct Act – legislated in April 2016 by the BC provincial government. Since February, the College has been working on developing various programs and supporting collateral as part of the College's sexual violence prevention initiatives. 


Resources for employees who have experienced sexual violence

If you or someone you know has experienced sexual violence or harassment, please contact:
Sherry Chin-Shue, Director of Labour Relations and Human Rights
604.323.5618 | schinshue@langara.ca


Sexual Respect Ambassador Program

Langara is currently piloting a one-year Sexual Respect Ambassador Program. The program, led by the Office of Student Conduct & Judicial Affairs and People Services, is intended to train employees on how to respond to individuals who disclose sexual violence incidents. Any employees who work closely with students, or are interested in supporting the program are eligible. Please contact Sherry Chin-Shue at schinshue@langara.ca or Maggie Ross at maggieross@langara.ca for further information.

Langara employees can find resources (print and online) related to the Sexual Violence & Misconduct Policy (B3009) by following these instructions:

  1. Log in to myLangara.
  2. At the top navigation, click on the "Employees" tab
  3. At the right-hand column, click on "Student Conduct Support and Resources"

If you have any questions or concerns, please contact Student Conduct & Judicial Affairs. 

Current List of Sexual Respect Ambassadors (updated October 20 2017)

Name Email Phone
Jimmy Aitken
Department Assistant, Aboriginal Services
jaitken@langara.ca PENDING
Angelia Aizawa
Dept. Assistant, Faculty of Science 
aaizawa@langara.ca 604.323.5704
Bernadett Askey
Instructor, Web & Mobile Design PDD
baskey@langara.ca 604.323.5511 x2552
David Aucoin
Manager, Safety & Security Emergency Management
daucoin@langara.ca 604.323.5148
Andrea Biason, Financial Aid Advisor, Registrar & Enrolment Services abiason@langara.ca 604.323.5511 x5185
Mono Brown
Instructor, English
mmbrown@langara.ca 604.323.5511 x2455
Katherine Brown
Advising Assistant, Counselling Services
kbrown@langara.ca 604.323.5017
Merike Bruen
Counsellor, Counselling Services
mbruen@langara.ca 604.323.5287
Crystal Byun
Instructional Assistant, Psychology
cbyun@langara.ca 604.323.5875
Carrie Chapman
Lab demonstrator, Physics
cchapman@langara.ca 604.323.5511 x2409
Niall Christie
Instructor, History & Latin
nchristie@langara.ca 604.323.5832
Harkit Dhillon
Academic Manager, Continuing Studies
hdhillon@langara.ca 604.323.5585
Mark Dawson
Manager, Communications & Marketing
mdawson@langara.ca 604.323.5702
Chantal Faucher
Instructor, Criminal Justice
cfaucher@langara.ca 604.323.5818
Noel Genoway
Instructor, Business Management & International Business
ngenoway@langara.ca 604.323.5863
Catherine Huth
Department Chair, Criminal Justice
chuth@langara.ca 604.323.5363
Tiffany Johnstone
Instructor, English
tjohnstone@langara.ca 604.323.5511 x2371
Jennifer Knapp
Coordinator, Interdisciplinary Studies 
jknapp@langara.ca 604.323.5481
Stephanie Koonar
Coordinator, Financial Services Diploma, Marketing
skoonar@langara.ca 604.323.5957
Laurie Lowes
Instructor, Criminal Justice
llowes@langara.ca 604.323.5818
Brenda Marson
Academic Manager, Continuing Studies
bmarson@langara.ca 604.323.5631
Jake McCallum
Director, Athletics & Intramurals
jmccallum@langara.ca 604.323.5421
Bobbie Morrison
Program Manager, Continuing Studies
bmorrison@langara.ca 604.323.5323
Bridget O'Donnell
Academic Administrative Assistant, Faculty of Science
bodonnell@langara.ca 604.323.5249
Jennifer Paige
Homestay Coordinator, International Education
jpaige@langara.ca 604.323.5924
Meaghan Rafferty
Library Assistant, Library Services
mrafferty@langara.ca 604.323.5467
Melissa Roberts
Instructor, Criminal Justice
mroberts@langara.ca 604.323.5190
Lealle Ruhl
Coordinator/Instructor, Interdisciplinary Studies / Peace & Conflict Studies 
lruhl@langara.ca 604.323.5392
Jasminder Sajjan
International Student Coordinator, International Education
jsajjan@langara.ca 604.323.5164
Charlotte Sander
Communications Officer, Communications & Marketing
csander@langara.ca 604.323.5672
Carlyann Scarr
Department Assistant, Athletics & Intramurals
cscarr@langara.ca 604.323.5682
Deborah Schratter
Communications Officer, Communications & Marketing
dschratter@langara.ca 604.323.5672
Maggie Stewart
Volunteer Program Coordinator, Student Engagement
mstewart@langara.ca 604.323.5700
Tahira Syed
Admissions Advisor, Registrar & Enrolment Services
tsyed@langara.ca 604.323.5566
Merle Viaud
Department Chair, Early Childhood Education
mviaud@langara.ca 604.323.5769
Peter Vysek
Instructor, Design Formation
pvysek@langara.ca 604.323.5142
Makiko Yao
Medical Office Assistant, Student Health Services
makikoyao@langara.ca 604.323.5256

Policy