Ardeshir Bagheri Instructor

Phone:
Office:
Email: bagheri@langara.ca

Mingwu Chen Instructor

Phone: 604.323.5819
Office: B019k
Email: mwchen@langara.ca

Stephen Chiong Instructor

Phone: 604.323.5711
Office: B019r
Email: schiong@langara.ca

Areas of Interest

  • Software/Web/Mobile Development
  • Data Structures and Algorithms
  • Cloud Computing
  • Data Management and Analytics

Hossein Darbandi Instructor

Phone: 604.323.5856
Office: B019n
Email: hdarbandi@langara.ca

Education

  • PhD in computer vision from UBC in 2010.
  • M.ASc in automatic speech recognition and speech analysis from UBC in 2002
  • B.Sc in computer science from UBC in 1999.
  • B.ASc in Electrical Engineering from Sharif University of Technology of Tehran in 1988.

Areas of Interest

  • Three-dimensional object recognition and object classification
  • Image analysis
  • Machine learning
  • Speech analysis and automatic speech recognition
  • Robotics

My instructional site

Bijan Farrahi Instructor

Phone: 604.323.5799
Office: B019g
Email: bfarrahi@langara.ca

Academic Degrees

  1. Mathematics - Ph.D in Mathematics (Geometry), Ruhr-Universität, Bochum, Germany, Summer 1974,
  2. Computer Science - M.Math in Computer Science, University of Waterloo, Fall 1983,
  3. Mathematics - M.Math in Pure Mathematics, University of Waterloo, Spring 1971,
  4. Mathematics - B.Math in Pure Mathematics, University of Waterloo, Spring  1970.
  5. Bachelor of Education – B.Ed, University of Ottawa, Spring 1991.

Industry

  • Feb 1993 –  March 1999
    • Member of  software design teams, Nortel Networks  – TDMA Wireless radio,  OC-12 and OC-192 Fiber Optics.
  • Dec 1991 – Jan 1993
    • Member of  software design teams at GeoVision Canada and Theratronics Canada  – GIS and Scientific Software.
  • March 1983 – Sept 1990
    • Member of scientific staff at Bell  Northern Research (BNR) in Ottawa – Telecommunications,
    • Logic Programming, File Systems, and CAD/CAM.

My Bio

Adina Goldberg Instructor

Phone:
Office:
Email: agoldberg@langara.ca

Bryan Green Department Chair

Phone: 604.323.5736
Office: B019h
Email: bgreen@langara.ca

Hengameh Hamavand Instructor

Phone: 604.323.5362
Office: B019i
Email: hhamavand@langara.ca

Education:

  • M.Math in Computer Science, University of Waterloo
  • B.Math in Computer Science, Arya-Mehr University of Technology (i.e. Sharif University)

Industry Experience:

  • Software Development Manager (Nortel Networks):

Led groups of up to 12 designers building and maintaining projects like Network Management
and provisioning systems.

  • System Architect (Nortel Networks):

Part of a design team working on projects like:

Operation and Administration of the Broadband Access Network

Off-board database for DMS switches

  • Member of Scientific Staff (Nortel / BNR):

Designed, implemented and maintained many telephony features (e.g. name and number display, Call Forward)
and some DMS database features

Teaching Experience:

Langara college. January 2001 - present. Taught a variety of courses including program design,
Unix/Linux. and Software Engineering.

Areas of Interest:

Software and programming language design
Database design
User Interface design
Web development

 

Jeremy Hilliker Instructor

Phone: 604.323.5511 ext. 2421
Office: B019j
Email: jhilliker@langara.ca

Joe Huang Assistant Chair

Phone: 604.323.5205
Office: B019p
Email: jhuang@langara.ca

Hazra Imran Instructor

Phone: 604.323.5511 ext. 2113
Office: B019m
Email: himran@langara.ca

Mahdad Khatirinejad Instructor

Phone: 604.323.5511 ext. 2301
Office: B153b
Email: mkhatirinejad@langara.ca

Brian Koehler Board Member

Phone: 604.323.5822
Office: M3.6A
Email: bkoehler@langara.ca

Areas of Interest 

Web Development, Programming Languages, Compilers, Geomatics, Cloud Computing, Security, Cryptography

Education

  • B.Math. (Computer Science) University of Waterloo
  • M.Sc. (Computer Science) Univerisity of Victoria
  • MBA University of Victoria

Associations

  • ACM
  • IEEE-CS

Kim Lam Assistant Department Chair

Phone: 604.323.5853
Office: B019c
Email: kimlam@langara.ca

Henry Lei Instructional Technician

Phone: 604.323.5444
Office: T211
Email: hlei@langara.ca

Sirine Maalej Instructor

Phone: 604.323.5511 ext. 2445
Office: B019f
Email: smaalej@langara.ca

Jason Madar Instructor

Phone: 604.323.5511 ext. 2426
Office: B019o
Email: jmadar@langara.ca

Jamie McKee-Scott Assistant Chair

Phone: 604.323.5511 ext. 2013
Office: B019b
Email: jmckeescott@langara.ca

Jordan Miller Instructor

Phone: 604.323.5511 ext. 2083
Office: A383
Email: jordanmiller@langara.ca

Saeed Mirjalili Instructor

Phone: 604.323.5511 ext. 2160
Office: B019e
Email: smirjalili@langara.ca

Gladys Monagan Instructor

Phone: 604.323.5859
Office: B019l
Email: gmonagan@langara.ca

Education

  • Dr. sc. techn. (in Computer Science) Swiss Federal Institute of Technology, ETH Zürich, Switzerland. Research topic: Object Recognition.
  • M. Sc. (in Computer Science) University of British Columbia, Vancouver. Research topic: Visual Knowledge Representation.
  • B. Sc. Honours (class I) (in Computer Science) University of British Columbia, Vancouver.

Previous Employment

Senior Research Assistant at the Institut für Informationssysteme, ETH Zürich. Led a research project on the automatic interpretation of cadastral maps which was a collaboration between ETH Zürich and the AEW, Aargau, Switzerland.

Software Engineer at Range Vision Inc., Burnaby. RVI manufactured range imaging hardware and machine vision software.

Courses Taught

First courses in programming in Visual Basic, C++ and Java, core computer science courses that deal with data structures, algorithms and object oriented programming.

Other

If you are looking for my contributions to the field of computational algebra or to Maple, you are probably looking for my husband Michael Monagan.

Alireza Osareh Instructor

Phone: 604.323.5511 ext. 2125
Office: B019d
Email: aosareh@langara.ca

Haotian Pang Instructor

Phone: 604.323.5511 ext. 2046
Office: A383
Email: hpang@langara.ca

Fred Parvaz Instructor

Phone: 604.323.5853
Office: B019m
Email: fparvaz@langara.ca

Maryam Samiei Instructor

Phone: 604.323.5033
Office: B019r
Email: msamiei@langara.ca

Chris Schmidt Instructor

Phone: 604.323.5511 ext. 2556
Office: A383
Email: cschmidt@langara.ca

Bita Shadgar Instructor

Phone: 604.323.5511 ext. 2393
Office: B019m
Email: bshadgar@langara.ca

Ryan Zier-Vogel Instructor

Phone: 604.323.5511 ext. 2557
Office: B019q
Email: rziervogel@langara.ca